The Florey joins the MHPP!

We are delighted to announce that the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health has joined the Mental Health PhD Program as a supporting partner.

It will now co-fund and share responsibility for shaping and steering the program with the Centre for Mental Health, the Department of Psychiatry, the School of Psychological Sciences, and the Centre for Youth Mental Health.

The Florey is one of the world's leading neuroscience research centres and has the largest brain research group in the Southern Hemisphere. It is an independent medical research institute whose globally networked scientists are found at three research facilities: at the Parkville campus of the University of Melbourne , at the Royal Melbourne Hospital, and at Austin Health in Heidelberg.

The Florey will be represented in the Mental Health PhD Program (MHPP) by new Co-Director Professor Andrew Lawrence. Andrew is an NHMRC Principal Research Fellow who is a Division Head at The Florey, where he runs the Addiction Neuroscience laboratory. He is also Head of The Florey's Mental Health Research Theme. Andrew is a prolific and influential researcher who has held numerous leadership roles, including service as President of the Asian-Pacific Society for Neurochemistry and Vice-President of the International Society for Biomedical Research on Alcoholism. In 2021 he takes over as Editor in Chief of the Journal of Neurochemistry.

The MHPP currently has over 60 graduate researchers from over a dozen different Centres and Schools within the University. The addition of the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health will further enrich the program and contribute significantly to its mission of interdisciplinary training.

If you would like more information about the Program, its new online format and/or have a PhD student researching a topic related to mental health who might be interested in joining the MHPP community, then please visit our website here or send an email to Marjolein at

With kind regards,
The MHPP Co-Director Team

Prof Nick Haslam
Melbourne School of Psychological Sciences

Prof Jane Pirkis
Centre for Mental Health

Prof Chris Davey
Department of Psychiatry

Prof Alison Yung
Centre for Youth Mental Health

Prof Andrew Lawrence
the Florey Institute of Neuroscience & Mental Health

Dr Marjolein Kammers
Melbourne School of Psychological Sciences
Primary Contact Person for the MHPP